Work the plan and communicate, communicate, communicate


A few weeks ago, Greg Eyerly, the Cedar Rapids Flood Recovery Director, gave a speech to the Downtown Rotary.  My take away from his speech was “work the plan”.

My intent is to follow the County’s published policies, procedures, and plans.  And why wouldn’t I follow them?  I know I’m an autonomous elected official and I have some latitude to do what I want when I want.

But does being autonomous give me the right to disregard what’s in the best interests of Linn County – to disregard “the plan”?  Does it give me the right to ignore the policies that have been in effect before I was elected?

Wasn’t I elected to do what’s in the best interests of the County?  And shouldn’t that override my desire to be autonomous – or to get re-elected – or to win favor with my political party – or to be popular – or to maintain the status quo?

From time to time, I receive feedback that I’m posting too much information on www.linncountyauditor.org , on this blog, in my tweets, and in emails. Why post information that I’m not required to post?  Is it a part of “the plan”?

Take a look at Linn County’s Mission Statement.  It says, “It is the mission of the Linn County Government to provide all residents the most efficient and responsive public services, while maintaining sound fiscal management in order to enhance the quality of life in Linn County”.  Isn’t it efficient to anticipate what residents might want to see and post it on the web before they ask?  How do residents know we are practicing sound fiscal management if they cannot see how we are spending taxpayer dollars?

Along the same lines, the Board of Supervisors has adopted Strategic Goals and Initiatives.  I’ve actually read them and I try to incorporate them into the day-to-day operations of the Auditor’s Office.

The County’s first strategy is:  Excel in customer satisfaction.  Three of the goals included in this strategy are (B) maintain regular communications with the public, (C) solicit feedback from customers, and (D) establish accountability for customer satisfaction.

The County’s second strategy is:  Achieve effective communications.  One of the goals included in this strategy is to (D) educate the public by providing information about who we are and what we do.

The County has plans that have withstood the test of time.  I am going to continue to “work the plans”.  I am going to continue to be autonomous.  I am going to continue to do what’s in the best interests of Linn County – first.  And I am going to continue to communicate, communicate, communicate who we are and what we do until the Vision of the Office of Auditor is realized (Every person engaged in local government) or the public can tell me the difference between the City and the County.

One Response to “Work the plan and communicate, communicate, communicate”

  1. Brent Oleson Says:

    Very good Mr. Miller. I appreciate your efforts and your global (not parochial) view of county government.

    Like

Leave a Reply

