Chapter 22 – Your right to audit


Here we go again; yet another county officer says the County Auditor has no authority to audit.

Please.  Can someone – anyone – point out to me the code section in the Code of Iowa that prohibits the county auditor from auditing?  Or reviewing?  Or examining?

Did I give up my right to examine public records when I was elected county auditor?  Where is that written in the Code?

I’ll admit it.  I’m a transparency fanatic.  In fact, one of my goals is “To be the most open and transparent government office in the State of Iowa”. 

I work with some people who are not interested in providing the public with any more information than absolutely necessary.  That line of thinking tends to oppose my vision which is “Every person engaged in local government”.   How can you be engaged if you don’t have access to information?

What is an audit?  Per Webster, it’s the same as an inspection, check, checkup, examination, going-over, look-see, review, scan, scrutiny, survey, or view.

Chapter 22.2(1) says, “Every person shall have the right to examine and copy a public record and to publish or otherwise disseminate a public record or the information contained in a public record”.

Every person shall have the right to examine gives you the right and gives me the right to audit – to be an auditor.

Maybe you’ve never used your right to audit, but I am using it and I plan to continue to use it as long as I am your County Auditor.  And I would appreciate your support while I am working for you.

Sincerely yours,

Joel D. Miller

County Auditor

Leave a Reply

