Organizational chart – I work for you


When your business has only five employees, an org chart is not too important, i.e., unless you are trying to make a big sale and the buyer is concerned you are too small to deliver the product on-time at the agreed to price.  Suddenly, your org chart might contain more than you and your five employees.  It might have lines to this supplier and that vendor and this partner and that consultant.  And don’t forget all of the part-time employees who are available on a moments notice.

I will admit that org charts are a pain.  They are usually out of date by the time they are printed.  But they serve a purpose and one of those purposes is to graphically illustrate the command and control structure within an organization.  They can help you determine if an organization is balanced at each level of management or out of whack.  Are wages equitable for like positions?  What is the employee to manager ratio?  Who does that employee report to?

Creating and maintaining an org chart is a basic function of management.  It’s one of the first tasks I completed in 2007 when I became Auditor and I’ve posted an org chart or spreadsheet of my organization on http://www.linncountyauditor.org for years.

On March 18th, I sent an email to my peers, the other nine elected Linn County officers, and their department heads asking for a recent (not older than 12 months) version of their org charts.  Coincidently, I thought posting an org chart would fit in with the theme of recognizing April as National County Government Month.

I created an organizational chart with the name, position, and estimated FY10/11 wages for the employees and managers reporting to your 10 County Officers.  For some positions, I’ve indicated “co-mgr” (co-manager) or “co-sup” (co-supervisor) meaning the employees are managed by several managers/supervisors.  For example, the shifts for the Jail Sergeants may differ from the Jail Deputies so supervision may change from day-to-day or week-to-week.

I believe the following organizations are 99% accurate:  Auditor, Treasurer, Recorder, Purchasing, Planning & Development (P&D), VA (Veterans Affairs), Engineer (Secondary Roads) and IT (Information Technology).

The Sheriff’s org is based upon the March 2010 chart posted on his web site.  The Attorney’s org is based upon my guesswork.  And the remainder of the departments were either non-responsive or they are still working on getting me their charts.  I will revise my initial  org chart draft when/if I receive updated information.

If you think it’s important for managers to have current org charts for their organizations – the organizations you pay for with your property taxes – then I suggest you contact your County Supervisor.  The Supervisors can be reached at 892-5000 or via bd_supervisors@linncounty.org.

If you think my org chart project is a waste of time or you want to comment on this topic or any other, please post below.

I work for you.  I’ve indicated that on the org chart.

Leave a Reply

