Langston resigning on 4/15


Earlier today (3/31), The Gazette carried a story about Linn County Supervisor Linda Langston stepping down early – click here.

I became aware of Langston’s plans to resign a couple of weeks ago; however, an elected official must tender his/her resignation in writing for it to be official.  Her letter is here.

A meeting of the Committee of County Officers (Recorder, Treasurer, and Auditor) has tentatively been scheduled for 10am on Monday, April 4th, in the Public Service Center at 935 2nd ST SW in Cedar Rapids.  An official meeting notice will be published tomorrow (4/1).

If you wish to publicly express your opinion on how to fill the vacancy, please attend the meeting on Monday.  If you cannot attend and wish to express your opinion via email, please send your email to joel.miller@linncounty.org and I will forward it to the Recorder and Treasurer.  You are welcome to contact the Treasurer and/or Recorder directly, and I trust they will forward any correspondence they receive to me.

I have some ideas on how to handle this Supervisor vacancy based upon how Dubuque and Johnson counties recently handled their supervisor vacancies.  I have not had a conversation with the Recorder or Treasurer since I became aware of Langston’s plans to resign.  Further, I have not made up my mind.  And thus far, no one has attempted to lobby me.  -Joel D. Miller – Linn County Auditor

Leave a Reply

