Complaint on Oleson for practicing without a license


Today, The Gazette mentioned that I filed a complaint against Supervisor Brent Oleson for practicing law without a license. The link below contains my complaint and an acknowledgement of the complaint by the Attorney Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of Iowa.

I admit that I do not have much faith in the Disciplinary Board to slap Oleson’s hands since the profession polices itself. I took an oath of office to uphold the laws of Iowa so when I see something that is a potential violation of the law, I have a duty to report it to the proper authority. In this situation, the Disciplinary Board is the proper authority.

I recall Oleson telling me during office hours that he was doing “some legal work” after October of 2006 so I am guessing some local attorneys are aware of other potential violations besides my complaint. But will they file a complaint? Or have they filed a complaint? Or self-reported? That’s contingent upon the facts and their ethics. –Joel D. Miller – Linn County Auditor

Complaint and receipt of complaint filed on Oleson on 5-16-2016 .pdf

Leave a Reply

