Update #2: Linn County voter data


I just received the text below from the Chair of the Linn County GOP. He gave me permission to post it on my blog.

In case you are wondering, the Linn County Democratic Party receives routine updates on voter data via the Iowa Democratic Party from the Iowa Secretary of State. -Joel D. Miller – Linn County Auditor

Sent: Monday, August 7, 2017 9:50 AM

"Per the incident last week I have a few comments that I would like to make. The Linn County Republicans receive a regular email with voter registration data every other week. We requested this data for internal use and to aid our candidates. We have been receiving this information for a long time now.

This past Friday we received a similar email except that I am told that it contains more information such as Social Security numbers. I cannot verify this because I promptly deleted the email after being requested to do so by the auditors office. I received both a phone call and an email with the request to delete the email and then promptly provided phone numbers for other individuals who receive the email. I reached out to these individuals and so did the auditors office to verify that the incorrect email was deleted.

Upon further investigation it was realized that I provided an incorrect email to the auditors office. I had an incorrect email listed in my address book for one of the individuals which is why the auditors office also had an incorrect email that was receiving the documents.
The auditors office was very prompt to try and resolve the issue. I accept responsibility for my error and the auditors office has excepted responsibility on their end.

There’s no reason to believe that there is any malicious intent by either party. I hope we can move forward and continue to have a strong relationship with this office as they are vital to our party business.

Justin Wasson
Chair
Linn County GOP"

Leave a Reply

